There are more than 20 different permissions that form access rights, so for ease of use they are bundled in sets of rights - roles. In the end of the day, it is the role (predefined or custom) that applies to the universe / project / task for groups and individual users.

There are several predefined roles in Cerebro, which differ by access level, наборы разрешений для которых вы можете посмотреть в Cerebro в окне редактирования прав доступа для ролей:

  • Full control - a full control over tasks and subtasks: creating subtasks, deleting, changing their properties, assignees, writing messages of any type, etc. Being applied on the universe level, this role grants access to all Administrator’s functions: add / delete users, create new projects, etc. This role is forbidden to edit, as the system needs at least one user at any time, that has full access to it.
  • Producer – a role designed for a financial manager. It grants access to budgeting and salaries (see ch. “Budgeting”).
  • Supervisor – the role grants the widest options to manage tasks and their properties, practically, the unlimited access in this scope, except several minor features (e.g. to create Client’s Reviews).
  • Client – a special role for the team’s outsiders (e.g., clients). It enables the option to create messages of a special type - Client’s Reviews but limits the visibility of other messages to those only that are marked as Visible for clients (see ch. “Forum”).
  • Worker – a role for the most part of the employees. It enables the options to create Reports and Notes and adjust the Task Progress value up to 99%, but not to set it “Done”.
  • Restricted Worker – a role for team memebers with restricted access to project data (e.g., for freelancers). It enables the option to see and operate only the tasks where the Restricted Worker is an assignee. Within this scope the access level of the Restricted Worker is equal to the one of an ordinary Worker.

If you need to create a custom role, ir can be done in the Roles window, which is accessible from an Access Rights window of any object (universe, project, task).

This window displays current permissions for the roles, besides, it allows to create, edit or delete them.

On the left side there is a list of roles existing in the system. The Full Control role is protected from editing or deletion.
Оn the right side - the list of permissions for the selected role. The list consists of three columns:

  • Name – the permission’s name
  • Unconventional – an option to enable the permission without any conditions;
  • Conditional – an option for a permission to take effect only when the user is allocated to the object as assignee.

If you hover the mouse cursor over the name of the permission, a tooltip with its description appears.

Creating a New Role

A new role is never created “from scratch”, you need to pick one of the existing roles to serve as a template for the new one. So, first, pick one of the existing roles and press the New role button (above the list of roles).
After that you can specify the name for the new role and edit its permissions in the right side of the window.

Editing a Role

To set/edit a role name, double click its name or use the “Rename” button above it.
There are two columns with checkboxes in the right side of the Roles window – Unconditional and Conditional. You can configure the particular permission set for the role by checking/unchecking the boxes. Each permission may have only one option selected – either unconditional or conditional (if applicable).

If you change a permission set for the role that have already been in use in your universe, the changes will affect all groups/users that are allocated to the role.

Some permissions are logically related to each other. For example, if you switch on the Task management permission for a certain role, it makes sense to activate the Task Editing and New Task Creation permissions as well, as they all are needed for full control over the tasks.

Deleting a Role

Pick a role in the list and press either the Delete Role button in the interface or Delete button on your keyboard.

If the role being deleted is in use in your universe, it will not affect the users/groups that have been allocated to the role. That is, the deletion just removes the item from the list. If you want to discard permissions for the users/groups associated with the deleted role, you need to do it manually in the access settings for the corresponding objects.

Any change (creating or editing a role) must be confirmed by pressing a Confirm or OK button. If you want to discard the changes, press a Roll Back or Cancel.

While you are making changes to the roles, the lower part of the window displays comments how the change will affect the role or, in certain cases, why the change is impossible to make this way.

Did this answer your question?