In Cerebro you can create user accounts and records for material resources used in the work, which are similar in some ways.

Users and Resources tabs have roughly the same functionality, a list of existing users/resources is displayed on them, you can edit the attributes of the items in the list, delete, or create new ones.

The right panel displays three tabs which allow you to edit profiles, group membership, and the set of activities associated with the object (user or resource) (see “Activities”).

By default we will refer to * Users* tab as user accounts have more options and are themselves divided into two types (standard and e-mail users), unlike the material resource records.

The above-mentioned two types of users in Cerebro have the following specific differences:

  • e-mail user - can send and receive messages in Cerebro only by e-mail (see “9. E-mail and Cerebro”). Account of this type is free, although their total number is limited.
  • Standard User - in addition to working through the e-mail he is able to log in with its username/password and work in desktop Cerebro client, including (depending on the level of access) user management, project management, task management, statistics and so on. Account of this type is paid and its total number determined by the number of purchased Cerebro licenses.

In the list of users, those two types are visually differentiated by their icons, and you can use two different buttons New standard user and New e- mail user, to create them respectively.

There are two other ways to add users to the universe in Cerebro besides creating new accounts:

  • invitation for users who already have an account in another universe in the same database (Find and invite user button above the list);
  • recovery for previously deleted accounts (Restore user button).

Note

When you invite someone to join your universe, you will be asked to write an invitation for him, which he will see and be able to accept or decline after his next log in. If he agrees, he will become a full member of your universe, this means that every user can be assigned to several universes.

Remove user from the universe button allows you to remove the selected account from the list. If the user is already in a universe, then his account will remain active, otherwise it will be disabled, but the user profile (except for the login name) will be kept in the database for fast recovery.

Profile tab is used to view/edit account settings. You can for example correct wrongly specified e-mail, change the user’s login, reset his password, etc.

Also, you can convert your account from the standard to the e-mail user and back (this will ask for additional parameters) using the switch in the upper right corner.

On the Group Membership tab you can manage a set of groups which selected user is assigned to (see “User groups”).

You can use buttons that should be familiar to you to move needed elements from general list to user groups.

On the User activities tab you can specify a set of activities that one or another person on the project will be engaged in (see “Activities”).

Similar to the previous point set the list of activities in the two neighboring columns.

Did this answer your question?